pinay e-motion

a heart across the ocean

My Life After GTA

Leave a comment

Before my graduation I was afraid that I won’t get employment immediately. I was aware that the school year would open two weeks after my graduation, and I haven’t even started applying for any jobs. The truth is, I didn’t even have any prospects.  My fear for the unknown, however, was immediately dismissed after I was invited for an interview by the associate dean of one of the state colleges in the city.  It turned out my Lead GTA recommended me for a teaching job that the college had available. Although I was hesitant at first because of the location, I still went for the interview. I was glad I did it because I found out eventually that the college has a branch located 10 miles away from my home. To make a long story short, I got the job. I was offered to teach two ESL courses two times a week: one for beginners, and the other for advanced.

My schedule is fantastic! That was my initial reaction – until I ran out of things to do at home, and I started feeling bored. So, I started applying for a part-time job to fill my free time, and it didn’t take long before I got an offer from another organization. However, as fate would have it, an unexpected circumstance came up.  One instructor suddenly left and the college had to offer me another two courses to teach. I was very happy when I received the offer. More than the financial gain, for me it was the vote of confidence from my supervisors that was really more important. So, now I teach four courses – four hours a day, four times a week. Still, I am far from my target goal, but I couldn’t be happier. I am truly grateful for my teaching job.

“To accomplish great things, we must not only act, but also dream; not only plan, but believe.” Anatole France

 

Leave a Reply

