pinay e-motion

a heart across the ocean

A Fast and Furious Ride

Leave a comment

Happy 4th of July everyone!

Happy 4th 2016 001

It has been a couple of months since I posted my last blog. I must say, the months of May and June came fast and furious (a warning that came from my professor regarding what to expect – ouch!). Nonetheless, compared to my Fall and Spring terms, they were still less chaotic. In May I enrolled in my last two graduate courses: 1) Research, and 2) Independent Study on ESOL Grammar. Likewise, I received my two teaching assignments: 1) Listening 1, and 2) Grammar 2.

I finished my Research class in 6 weeks, which means I am now down to only one course. I am pretty satisfied with everything. I won’t say, the ride didn’t go without any hiccups – because it was full of surprises and twist and turns.  At times I felt like a pretzel! Every assignment I had to spend time reading the assigned chapters, analyzing research types, writing proposals, and, of course, preparing for exams. The only good thing this term is we were allowed to work in a group, and that helped a lot. With two other members helping in the tasks, we divided, conquered, and finished the course with an A. My other course, ESOL Grammar, is still on going. It has its own challenges, but, thankfully, I am currently teaching a grammar class, which helps me a lot in staying focused on my assignments.

Now that I am not so tied up with schoolwork, I decided to volunteer to help in our school Movie Club. Aha, isn’t that exciting?  Every Wednesday, Jen (my co-GTA) and I prepare drinks, popcorn and, of course, a movie for our students. We are very happy about the turnout of students who come to watch our movie. Our first week was a full house. I bribed encouraged my students to write a synopsis for extra credit. Those who came the first time and enjoyed it became our regulars. You would think that spending longer hours for the movie would make me feel tired, but for unknown reason, it does not. On the contrary, I feel energized. I totally agree with the saying, and I quote, “We find greatest joy, not in getting, but expressing what we are…The happy man is he who lives the life of love, not for the honors it may bring, but for the life itself.” (borrowed quote online).

My fast and furious ride is finally slowing down. I am just counting the days now. My graduation is coming very soon, and I can’t wait to cross the stage and receive what my husband refers to as my “shiny brand new degree.” It was a wild ride, but I’m glad that I’ve stayed on through the ups and downs.  I don’t know what my future holds, but I don’t worry. I know that God sent me here for a purpose, and that purpose will be revealed to me in His perfect time. Right now all I know is I am happy and content for whatever happens. I feel truly blessed for this wonderful journey.

at work 038

Hanging in there. This is where everything is going to happen – in four weeks…

“I believe any success in life is made by going into an area with a blind, furious optimism.” -Sylvester Stallone

 

Leave a Reply

