pinay e-motion

a heart across the ocean

Happy Labor Day

Leave a comment

I thought of quickly updating my blog today while I have a little time on my hands. It’s the Labor Day weekend, which gives me an extra day of rest (Yey!). Actually, I thought after my graduation in May I would rest from schoolwork for a while, but, of course, it didn’t happen. Here’s the update since I last posted:

  1. I attended my teaching internship at St. Petersburg College in Pinellas County for 7 weeks in June and July. It was the best part of my summer as it gave me the chance to work with EAP students who were getting ready to enroll in college Composition 1. As an intern, I presented lessons, prepared handouts on various subjects, and coached students on listening, speaking, reading, and writing tasks. I also proofread students’ written work and made useful recommendations. For me it was indeed a meaningful experience.

WP_20150618_001

WP_20150617_007

WP_20150622_001 (2)

WP_20150622_006

2. My husband and I said goodbye to our beach life in St. Pete Beach and said hello to Celebration, Florida, our new home. I must admit, we were very lucky to have found a beautiful home in one of its subdivisions, considering we only reserved one day for our home-tours. Except for the packing and unpacking, I could not complain. Our 3 bedrooms/3 bathrooms, open floor layout home is just perfect for us.

WP_20150812_016    WP_20150807_013

WP_20150806_0013. I was offered a job as a Graduate Assistant – IEP Instructor  at my university. It came as a surprise. Like I said, when I graduated last Spring Term I thought it was the end of my school days; little did I know that it was just the beginning. When I received the offer, I struggled a little bit. Part of it is because I wanted to rest badly, but the offer was hard to turn down. Although one of the conditions in my contract stipulates completing my Master’s Degree (which means going back to school again), the university waives all my tuition fees. This kind of opportunity doesn’t come around every day, so despite my emotional resistance, I said yes to the offer loud and clearly.

I attended training for weeks and passed all the tests. It was not easy, but I was determined to make it. I felt so grateful to get this chance to teach for the university. It was a dream come true. I never thought and planned to have another Master’s Degree (this is my second one), but I guess God has His own agenda. I am completing my Master’s Degree for free, and, the best part of it is, I’m getting paid for it. I teach two courses this Fall Term while juggling 3 classes in my graduate program. Yes, it is tough, but I am slowly getting the hang of it. Thanks to my loving husband who is always there and always supportive. God is good! I am truly thankful for all His blessings.

So that’s about it for now. Thanks for reading!

 

 

Leave a Reply

