pinay e-motion

a heart across the ocean

Haggardness in April

2 Comments

I am obviously in a rat race when it comes to keeping this blogsite updated. Although I’ve always included it in my to-do list, there’s always something that comes up bumping down in priority, deterring me from doing it so. Evidently, despite graduating from my program at the university in May, I am still wrestling with my checklist to squeeze my blog to the top.

Anyway, there is no other way to describe my April but downright toxic. It was the last month before my graduation, and the final requirement of the course was, of course, just demanding. My class was assigned to write a secondary research paper on a given topic which required us to go through different academic journals, reading, and analyzing contents. While I didn’t see this assignment as unsurmountable, what I found to be my biggest challenge was indeed the time constraint. By the time I arrived home from work at 5:30 p.m., not only was I physically drained, but I was also brain dead. These two factors were not a perfect combo especially when you were dealing with tons of pages, lots of details, and intimidating numbers.

How I survived the taxing process was something I gave full credit to God. It was tough, considering three of the seven theses I used as references were more than two hundred pages. The information overload was just overwhelming; no wonder there were times I could hear my body screaming enough! There were days I couldn’t help it but just give in to the loud admonition. My favorite escape was my quickie battle nap before going through the arduous work; this was mandatory each day. But often times due to limited time I would just pretend I did not hear my body saying I was tired. I shut up my brain for any disruptions out of fear of not making it on time. The whole month of April there was absolutely no weekend fun for me.

Discipline helped me to make it on the dot, albeit I looked like a sack of potatoes by the time I finished. I was so exhausted! I felt like I went from 0 to 60 in 1.5 seconds and when I finally found the brake pedal, I could not help but just parked my ride and got out. The weeks that followed I couldn’t even finish a 30 minute newscast on TV. The moment my back touched the couch or bed, I would crash out and travelled for hours to lalaland. I was so lazy, I was not moving.

A week after I submitted my paper, I received my grade. I got a few deductions from my score for not including figures in my report, but overall I passed the course with flying colors. Weeks after my graduation (and yes, after catching up with much needed sleep), my husband and I went to Sirata Resort to celebrate – at last!

graduation 2

Simple dinner with hubby

graduation 3

Scenic sandy beach outside the hotel

graduation 5

Husband’s special graduation gift

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do, so throw off the bowlines, sail away from safe harbor, and catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore, Dream, Discover.” –Mark Twain

2 thoughts on “Haggardness in April

Leave a Reply

