pinay e-motion

a heart across the ocean

Our Summer Trip 2014: Washington DC and Virginia

Leave a comment

THEN AND NOW

My self-imposed 30-day photo challenge was temporarily interrupted this week because of our summer trip. I thought I would be able to continuously post pictures while being away from home; unfortunately, my accompanying technological gadgets were not very cooperative. I tried to download pictures to my blog site using my Windows Phone but, sad to say, it did not work.

Nevertheless, we are back home after a few days of vacation in Washington D.C., it was my husband and I’s first time in the nation’s capital. I must say that this trip was quite meaningful as it also marks my first year anniversary as a US citizen. This trip was not planned on a whim; we had thought it copiously through, and even prepared for it months before our actual travel. So, you could imagine how excited we were. Here are some images captured on my camera during our exciting adventure.

Indonesian Embassy

My friend from the Indonesian Embassy picked us up at the airport, and while my husband was checking in at our hotel, my friend and I broke loose and were like bears on the move (see POTUS), and drove around the city. Our target destination: Indonesian Embassy. The government arm holds a special place in our hearts since it is what links us to each other. My friend and I met at the Indonesian Embassy in Manila sometime in 2006. Although we did not work directly in the same office, we met and chatted occasionally, especially if there were special events. She left the embassy years before me, and I was not expecting to see her again. Thanks to social media and fate, we have been reunited.

TESS WASHINGTON DC 2014 018

Indonesian Embassy in DC is located at Massachusetts Avenue, also known as Embassy Row, given the number of embassies aligned along the street. I was a little bit surprised with the impressive architecture -Beaux style- of its building. Besides being a sprawling compound, it has also a very interesting history.

TESS WASHINGTON DC 2014 022

TESS WASHINGTON DC 2014 024

Just next to the building, also stands a 16-foot statue of goddess Saraswati. It is said that the statue was given by the Indonesian government to the US (www.thehindu.com). I was struck by its majestic image; I was reminded of Indonesia’s Balinese dancers – very regal yet graceful.

I did not attempt to get inside the building because not only we were cramped for time, we also did not request for an appointment, and my friend was off duty. I did not mind though. For me, to see the building is enough… After all, I cannot change the course of my history – and nobody can. The Indonesian Embassy was like a second home to me for many years, and I will always be grateful for those years that I had been part of its family.

Thanks for reading.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

