pinay e-motion

a heart across the ocean

Photo Challenge: Fleeting

10 Comments

Fleeting (June2013)

My mini-summer break has officially begun yesterday! I counted the days and I couldn’t believe that I have nine free days for myself to enjoy and share with my husband. No early morning wake-up calls. No rushed breakfast. No traffic. No work. This is what I love the most about being a teacher.

I designated my first day of freedom to my husband and called it “Capt. Kirk’s Day!” (His name in honor of his Star Trek’s fantasies). The idea made him grinned from ear to ear. He was ecstatic to have me for the whole day just to himself.  We did go a little bit overboard: dancing like fools with Buble’s “Beautiful Day” music early in the morning; sleeping for hours when it was supposed to be just a nap; frolicking in the Gulf of Mexico like it was our first time to see the beach; and running like kids when suddenly the semi-tropical afternoon shower started pouring. As we all know unfortunately time flies when you are having fun. Before we knew it, the day had passed and we were settling in to our Saturday night ritual – the pizza party.

Time is FLEETING. It slips like a thief in the night – without warning; without deferment. Every second is filled with life that can coast on and slip by quickly. Once we’ve lost it, it’s gone.

fleeting 062

The good thing is, last night I went to bed with no regret knowing that I’ve enjoyed every second of my first day of “liberty.”

“Sensual pleasures have the fleeting brilliance of a comet; a happy marriage has the tranquility of a lovely sunset.”  by Anne Landers

10 thoughts on “Photo Challenge: Fleeting

  1. your legs look way too brown for the first day of your summer break!

    • Lol! My legs are brown 365 days a year, mrscarmichael. Of course, they do get darker the more they are exposed to the sun – even without me trying. I don’t know if it’s a gift or a curse. Anyway, thanks for sharing your thoughts. 🙂

  2. I love the way you describe the day spent with your husband and I love the quote by Anne Landers. 🙂
    Thanks for sharing.

  3. Very nice post–I love the words, photo, and the quote.

  4. Love it …. many years ago I took a similar photo … know that feeling so well. *smile

  5. Thank you for visiting my blog today. I appreciate the time you took to stop by. May your day be filled with joy and peace.
    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

Leave a Reply

