pinay e-motion

a heart across the ocean

My Home Makeover Project (Part 2)

6 Comments

My husband’s choice for the Caribbean motif has put a lot of island-inspired furniture and décor in our home, and I think they are  lovely. However, although I love our dining chairs printed with palm trees, as well as the wicker stand of our dining table, the mild hues and too much brown earth tones just doesn’t speak to me, as it does to my calypso humming hubby. If I had my way, I would definitely make a few major changes to reinvent our dining room – starting with putting up curtains, or maybe a valance, since my husband likes the idea of an open space.  But again, with our plan to relocate soon, anything that is a budget buster is automatically vetoed by the budget committee.

With my limited options, I was left to play with whatever is already available in our home. To add color to our dining area, I moved our vase, which was originally sitting in our foyer, to one corner of the room, and decorated it with a green plant.  On the dining table, we put bamboo placemats and colorful napkins to enhance our theme. We noticed that using two contrasting colors (light and dark colors) for placemats make them more vibrant and playful.  Since it will require two strong sumo wrestlers and baby hippo to move our armoire out of the area(heavy, heavy, heavy!), we decided to let it stay, and just use it as a corner cabinet to store china and some of our favorite books.

For tips on how to decorate your Dining room with a Caribbean motif, visit:

How to Decorate Your Dining Room With A Lot of Palm Trees | eHow.com http://www.ehow.com/how_5019359_decorate-room-lot-palm-trees.html#ixzz1wTv2GYLV

Here are some appealing dining rooms that can definitely increase your appetite:

By homedit.com

By Designer Modern Dining Room Ideas

By Designer Modern Dining Room Ideas

6 thoughts on “My Home Makeover Project (Part 2)

  1. Wow, your perspective and tasteful approach are most helpful to me and my wife in making our minds up with our home projects. Keep giving us home redo ideas, very cool. HF

  2. Thanks for the nice words, Hotfix.

  3. Thanks for the nice words, Inge! 😉

Leave a Reply

