pinay e-motion

a heart across the ocean

Back Home Again in Indiana (We did it our way!)

3 Comments

To celebrate my husband’s completion of his course in Digital Forensic, instead of attending his graduation ceremony, we flew to his hometown in Indiana for a short vacation. It was my first time to visit the place, and I didn’t know what to expect, or, I guess, it is more appropriate to say, my apprehension was keen. I love travelling! Even when I was still a single, I took refuge once in a while on a bus or plane ride to places uncharted and unfamiliar to me. I look at travelling as a major adventure; an opportunity to meet new people and learn new things.

To memorialize my first trip to Indiana, I brought my point and shoot camera with me to practice what I have learned from the book, “Digital Photography Basics: A Beginner’s Guide to Getting Great Digital Photos” by Kathy Burns-Millyard.  Since I am just starting to learn how to manipulate my camera’s features, I can be adequately described as what you might define as a “mess.” Travel Photography, although is fun because of the variety of types of camerawork which can be done, also poses multitude of challenges in the process. So you can imagine me clicking and clacking my camera’s button to change from one setting to another every so often. Fumble fingers extraordinaire, so to speak.

From the Indianapolis Airport, we ultimately drove on Highway 41 South going to Evansville. Immediately I was captivated by the long vistas of Indiana’s farmlands. The color of the blue sky as a backdrop in contrast with the extensive stretch of green luscious vegetation is breathtaking!  Now I understand why Indiana is sometimes referred to as the “bread basket of America.” As much as I wanted to digitize its beautiful panoramic picturesque views, it was just difficult for me to do it with my husband driving 70-80 miles per hour. Thus, setting my camera to the Sports setting was my only chance to capture these images.

After touring my husband’s boyhood home, we drove to Downtown Evansville where I was introduced to some of the town’s important landmarks: The old County Court House/Sherrifs Residence and Jail, and its Old Post Office. Their imposing architecture reminded me of an old medieval fortress in Europe. I think the harmonious juxtaposition of the old and modern architectures makes hubby’s hometown quite interesting. I set my camera to Landscape to digitize these gigantic structures.

We also visited Mesker’s Zoo and Botanical Park to get a glimpse of some of Evansville’s exciting animals on exhibit. As expected, flapping birds and wiggling mammals posed a big challenge for me since I am the ultimate shutterbug.  How I wish these adorable animals could just understand the words “stay put.”

The spring season also gave me a special treat to capture the beauty of blooming flowers in Evansville. Although I was not sure people understood my implausible frequent stop and press of shutter button, my encounter with the spectacular display of blossoms always made me smile.  I used Close Up setting to capture both images of animals and flowers, but I must admit, the latter was a lot easier to photograph. You know, the old Static vs. Dynamic principle.

Our Indiana trip turned into a wonderful experience.  While to me it was an opportunity to see a part of my husband’s past, to him it was his chance to share his heritage with me, whom he refers to as his mainstay present and future.  Oh yes, That’s ME!  When you have a husband like mine, life is always a joyride…

OUR REALIZATION:

 “When you finally go back to your old hometown, you find it wasn’t the old home you missed but your  Childhood.” -Sam Ewing

 

3 thoughts on “Back Home Again in Indiana (We did it our way!)

  1. I love the town photos, the buildings are very grand and the red bird is beautiful.

  2. Look how wonderful these shots are. Kudos! 🙂

Leave a Reply

