pinay e-motion

a heart across the ocean

Photo Challenge: Hope

7 Comments

HOPE  (Jan2012)

Hope is grounded in faith and believing in something that is invisible to our eyes…

It was a light bulb moment for me when I accidentally came across Milton Berle’s famous line, “If opportunity doesn’t knock; build a door.” It enlightened me just in time when I needed an inspiring encouragement to make me believe that, despite my exaggerated fears, I  know I can make my dream job come true.

After days of playing with the idea, I decided that I didn’t want to let this  chance pass me by, so I covered all the bases. Not only did I build a door, I also persistently knocked on it. Surprisingly, what I found to be a challenging task at first became a rejuvenating experience. For the first time in many years, I felt like I had given life to the person I wanted to become in my career.

Three weeks had passed and my persistent knocking on the door finally paid off. It was answered by a “welcome” invitation for an interview. Ecstatic? Hmmm…not yet.  Grateful? yes! I was given a week to prepare for the hot seat. Although during the entire time of preparation I had kept convincing myself that there’s no reason I could not make it, occasionally my playful mind would still tricked me and made me feel uncertain. The mind-boggling game could be discomforting  at times. Thankfully, I have a very supportive husband who constantly reminded me of the “mind over matter” concept. Every time I would lose my heart, he would tell me, “if you don’t mind, it don’t matter.”  It’s a self-fulfilling prophecy that suggests, what our  mind can conceive, our body will achieve.

True enough, my husband’s words didn’t fail me. Despite my unending bathroom breaks before the interview – like suddenly my urinary track sprung a leak- everything  finally fell into place. The nerve-wracking question and answer went well, and what I assumed to be a questionable career proposition in the beginning ended up on a high note. Whether it will materialize or not, my heart will remain HOPEful!

 “Hope, like the gleaming taper’s light,

Adorn and cheers our way;

And still as darkers grows the night,

Emits a brighter ray.” – Oliver Goldsmith

7 thoughts on “Photo Challenge: Hope

  1. I thoroughly enjoyed reading your post along with the photo you chose to post for the hope theme. I will hope with you . . . here is hoping your job opportunity becomes a job reality. Best of luck!

  2. Great interpretation for this week theme 🙂

  3. Gorgeous sunset …. nicely captured.

  4. Wonderful post. I hope you get the job you want 🙂

  5. What can one say. photo – well taken, and words- well written. a really great take. 😉

  6. Wow what a daunting ominous photo. You have really put me in a nice place with your words and peaceful twilight scene. HF

  7. Love the quote – some times you just have to build a door! Great post.

Leave a Reply

